Google Chrome

As a consummate tinkerer, I’m always trying new software and different browsers. I downloaded the Google Chrome browser way back when it first came out but never did like it as much as Firefox.

It had been a year or so since I tried Chrome so a couple weeks ago I wondered how Chrome was coming along. I downloaded the newest version of Chrome and to my surprise, it had evolved into a very nice browser.

One of the biggest reasons I enjoy the Firefox browser is its add-on capability. I have add-ons I just can’t live without so making the jump to Chrome was an exercise in wishful thinking. Also at the time, Chrome compatibility with various websites wasn’t quite there yet.

Wow, was I ever surprised. Chrome has evolved to the point where it had all of the add-ons I used in FF. And better yet, it has some other add-ons that made the integration with my android phone a huge plus! I haven’t ran into any problems with browser site compatibility. Another excellent feature of Chrome is bookmark syncing across all of my computers (I use 3).

So, two weeks ago I downloaded Chrome and switched to it permanently. I haven’t really looked back.

If you are sitting around watching football and need something to do, download and try out Google Chrome.

My favorite Add-ons include:
LastPass
Google Voice
Send link by email
Chrome to phone
goo.gl url shortner
Google Reader notifier
Click & Clean
Open Downloads Window
IE Tab
WOT
AdBloc

Google Chrome is also a very streamlined and minimal browser so if you run it on a laptop (like I do) you don’t loose a lot of screen real estate. Chrome also is snappier than Firefox. Tab management is nice too in that if a tab crashes, you don’t have to shut down Chrome – only that tab.

All in all, my opinion is the Chrome browser is ready for prime time and has become my browser of choice. If you haven’t yet tried it, give it a shot.

5 thoughts on “Google Chrome

  1. Hmm…. I went to firefox on your recommendation a while ago and have been pretty happy with it. Guess I’ll give chrome a try. Wish me luck.

  2. Hey darev, I think you will really like chrome. Let me know what you think and a big thanks for stopping by!

  3. G,

    I’ve been running the development install of Chrome for over a year and the portable install on my flash drive. I can attest that that this browser is all that you are saying it is. Chrome mesh’ well with all of the other Google services and is leading us down that path to an online OS. Nice article…

    Rick

  4. Thanks for chiming in Rick! I’ve been using it for a few weeks now and I can now say I’ve converted 100%.

  5. Pingback: Geek Squeaks’ of the Week (#79) « What's On My PC

Comments are closed.