Favorite Software

In the coming weeks, I’ll be adding my Favorite Software. So pop in once in a while to check out my favorite software links. The first favorite is in the “more” section of this post.

I’ve been a computer geek for a long time. If you are a blogger, chances are, you are a geek too. I remember my first computer experience as if it was yesterday.

To my knowledge, back in the day, Clatsop Community College was the only outfit in town with a main frame. Pardon me if I don’t get my terminology right.

A childhood chum of mines mother worked at ccc. One day (around 5th grade) we headed to ccc to play with the computers. The type of computer ran these punch cards to do your programming with (I think).

I wouldn’t really see or work on computers again until my senior year of highschool. During this time I took the computer programming class in which we were taught BASIC on good ol radioshack pc’s. My long term memory isn’t all that bad and the one thing I remember about the Radioshack pc is that you could program it to say the same thing over and over again (don’t ask me the command!). I used this technique to ask a girl in my class to Prom. She said yes with the command prompt.

Once in college, I took Pascal and Fortran. Keep in mind, this was still a few years before Apple and then Apple’s windows took over and made it easy for all of us.

I don’t do much programming anymore. It’s kinda like most things, use it or lose it. I dabble a bit in HTML and CSS but that’s about it. I’m gearing up now to make the switch to UBUNTU and run a linux based OS. Change is slow with me though. I still run quite a few window’s based products that won’t perform on linux. All good things in all good time.

Which gets me to the momentus climactive. My Favorite Software of The Day. Listed below are the products that are tried and true with me and for now work well on Window’s based platforms. Most if not all of these are free.

Web Browser – Firefox

I wouldn’t categorize Firefox as being allergic to web viruses but since I started using FF three years ago, I have only gotten one virus. This is one change I’m glad I made. Firefox is fun to use. It is open source based and works well with most websites. I still have IE around for those websites that won’t work with firefox. But they are few and far between.

I haven’t downloaded it yet but Firefox is slated to release version 3 in June or so. It’s still in beta form and most users say they haven’t had any issues with the beta. When I find time, I’ll probably download it before the June official release. You should too!

What is your favorite software?

One thought on “Favorite Software

  1. Yep, it was a mainframe at CCC. Big clunky thing that took up the better part of a room. It was all the rage at the time.

Comments are closed.