The Day the Music Lived 1970’s

Music has always been a part of my life. I was quite young when I got my first record. The Lion Sleeps Tonight by Robert John.

I’m really not sure why it was that particular 45 but it was. I’m sure it was mom’s choosing. She was a Carpenter’s fan. I still listen to The Carpenter’s once in a while. I have fond memories of making chocolate chip cookies with mom while listening to The Carpenter’s.

Today’s post will attempt to list the highlights of music from my early youth until the present. Hopefully this list will be forever preserved so when I’m losing my mind, I can use this list as a reminder of where I was the day the music lived – The 1970’s

1971 – The Lion Sleeps Tonight – Robert John
1972 – The Carpenters
1973 – Wildfire – Michael Murphy

1974
Band on the Run – Paul McCartney and Wings
The Locomotion – Grand Funk Railroad

1975
Behind Closed Doors – Charlie Rich
I like Beer – Tom T. Hall
Trying to get the feeling – Barry Manilow

1976 – Convoy – CW McCall
1977 – Saturday Night Fever Soundtrack

1978
VanHalen
Cat Scratch Fever – Ted Nugent
Slowhand – Eric Clapton
Don’t Look Back – Boston
Book of Dreams – Steve Miller Band
London Town – Paul McCartney and Wings

1979
My Sharona – The Knaack
Don’t Bring Me Down – Electric Light Orchestra
The Logical Song – Supertramp
The Blues Brothers
The Cars

Coming Soon – The 1980’s

6 thoughts on “The Day the Music Lived 1970’s

  1. I think my folks still have a few of these 8 tracks and cassettes…what is it with moms and the carpenters? and let me just say the tom t. hall concert I attended in 1st grade was quite the highlight indeed.

  2. Good God, Man!

    How could you leave out The Rolling Stones and the two great ’70’s Bob Dylan albums, “Blood On The Tracks” and “Desire”?

    Ted Nugent? C.W. McCall? BARRY MANILOW?!?!?!? AARRRGGHHHH!!!!

    Dude, my stock in your opinions on anything has taken a sudden and dramatic downturn.

  3. Jen: I still have a few 8 tracks and a lot of cassettes. Saturday night fever, vanhalen, and Boston. I think the mom/carpenter thing is softball related.

    beach: I was an average age of 8.5 years old in the 70’s. Most of my music was chosen by mom. When given lemmons, make lemonade. FWIW, you’ll have to wait a couple of weeks for the what i’m listening to now. Although I still occasionally listen to the carpenters and manilow.

    Guy: Stop it. You are showing your age.

  4. I totally agree with your list. As for the 70s music, right f-ing on. I love that 70s AM Gold. I’m a metalhead as you know, but growing up we always had the 70s station on – remember this was before casette decks. Anyway, if you want some 70s AM gold bliss, tune into this internet station that I listen to daily: http://www.live365.com/stations/djjandaman2

    You can listen for free if it’s not full.

  5. What was your favorite AM gold?

    I’m going to have to dig deep to remember. I’ll get back with mine.

Comments are closed.