The Day The Music Lived – 1980’s

The 1980’s were my coming of age years. From puberty to my last day of college was all done during the glamorous 80’s.

Looking back, music in the 80’s sucked. I didn’t really like hair bands that much so I started to discover what is now coined indie rock. Back then it was known as “alternative rock”. Make sure to check out the link below to Lucy and Ramona and Sunset Sam and Oh No it’s Devo. Very cool.

Nevertheless, as a young person, you have to have music! Discovering The Smiths (thankyou gravity force of one) in college was definately a step of the beat I was used to pursuing. I still listen to The Smiths pretty regularly.

In the late 80’s, something new was in the air and music was definitely making a change. Guns and Roses was a breath of fresh air for us riff loving rockers. Welcome to the Jungle in 1988 was the signal for change to come. Slash will go down in history as one of the all time great riff guitarists. The guy is incredible with a guitar and in my humble opinion paved the way for the new generation of music (grunge) that followed in the 90’s.

And now, here is my most listened to tunes in the 1980’s. (I hope I don’t sound like Casey Kasum).

1980 –
Back In Black – AC/DC
Dirty Deeds – AC/DC
The Wall – Pink Floyd
Blizzard of Oz – Ozzy Osbourne
The Cars
Scream Dream – Ted Nugent

1981 –
Ghosts in the Machine – The Police
Elvira – Alabama
Godzilla – Blue Oyster Cult
MTV debuts August 1st with Video Killed the Radio Star – The Buggles

1982 –
Tattoo You – The Rolling Stones
Lucy and Ramona and Sunset SamMichael Nesmith
Spring Session M – Missing Persons
Oh No It’s DevoDevo
Friend or Foe – Adam Ant
Shake it Up – The Cars
The Lexicon of Love – ABC
Blackout – The Scorpions
High and Dry – Def Leppard

1983 –
Synchronicity – The Police
Pyromania – Def Leppard
Shaboo Shoobah – INXS
Rio – Duran Duran
War – U2
Strip – Adam Ant
Forever Now – Psychedelic Furs
Rant and Rave – The Stray Cats
Slippin Away – Dave Edmunds

1984 –
Unforgettable Fire – U2
Out of the Cellar – RATT
The Swing – INXS
Tonight – David Bowie
The Warning – Queensryche
Heartbeat City – The Cars
Back to the Barroom – Merle Haggard

1985 –
No Remorse – Motorhead
Songs from the Big Chair – Tears for Fears
Born in the USA – Bruce Springsteen
Meat is Murder – The Smiths
Kiss Me, Kiss Me, Kiss Me – The Cure
Listen Like Thieves – INXS
Mr. Mister
The Toughest – Peter Tosh
All Things Pink Floyd

1986/1987 –
Pretty much everything classic rock. My favorites are/were Pink Floyd, The Doors, The Who, Frampton, Clapton, Neil Young.

1988 –
Viva Hate – Morrissey
The Smiths
Pronounced Lynard Skynard – Lynard Skynard
Appetite for Destruction – Guns and Roses
The Smithereens
Momentry Lapse of Reason – Pink Floyd

1989 –
MindBomb – The The
Disintigration – The Cure
Stop Making Sense – The Talking Heads
Seeds of Love – Tears for Fears

Coming soon – The 1990’s

2 thoughts on “The Day The Music Lived – 1980’s

  1. I listened to my fair share of maiden and priest. The only music I listed is music I personally owned. Thorsen was the rock man so I was never devoid of the hard stuff.

    My favorite maiden song was run to the hills
    favorite priest – turbo lover

Comments are closed.