Space

It’s a big day today for us space cadets. I’m one of those guys that has downloaded pretty much every program known to man for the past ten years that help me understand the area beyond the mesosphere.

Also known as space.

Today at about 5pm PST, the Phoenix will land on Mars.

If I had enough money, I’d blow it all on being able to go up in the space shuttle. There were no human takers on today’s NASA mission to Mars. They asked me. I would have said yes but they couldn’t guarantee to be able to supply enough Tang to last the entire mission.

So, if you are hanging at home today like your’s truly, you will be able to watch the landing on CNN (web or television).

I also encourage you to check out the NASA website. It’s a very cool website with lots of interactive stuff to do, videos, podcasts, etc. You can watch the landing event on their website as well. If you have satellite tv, the NASA channel will be hosting the landing as well.

The cool folks at Gizmodo have a good post with more information on the landing. Check it out if you have time.

5 thoughts on “Space

  1. I find it disturbing that NASA seems to be going ahead with planning an eventual manned mission to Mars … yet doesn’t seem to be making a permanent moon base part of that plan.

    I think it makes sense to plan a moon base first. A major reason being a practice base for the Mars mission. What better way to make sure you’re equipped for a multi-year mission, with no real support structure, than to do a “dry run” close enough so you have a chance of rescue if something goes horribly wrong?

    I know other countries would be nervous about us having a moon base. But it could be handled like the polar bases and “international” space station are. Rotate crews from various countries, with a “core” group from certain countries.

  2. Damnit Jim, we’ve been there before. The moon that is.
    I respectfully disagree with you Uncle Walt. The moon is so yesterday and visibly boring. Mars on the other hand is a planet that may have organic life.

    I am truly excited about what this new mission will bring us in space information.

    I think a better approach would be several space stations between here and Mars to make it possible to man flights to Mars.

    Hopefully, they aren’t planning on using corn based ethanol as fuel.

  3. Rumor has it that the anti’s are in the process of trying to figure out a good way to get to Mars to stage a rally.

    I can see the headlines now: Mars Deserves Better

  4. Yeah, we’ve been there. That’s the point. We know we can get there and back. So the logical next step is to build a base there … so we can take a bigger step.

    A manned mission to Mars, without first establishing a moon base (which would be cheaper than space stations), is like climbing stairs … and saying “okay, I used the first couple steps already, so I’m not going to use them anymore.”

    Plus, it would mean more scientific research in low gravity … research that wouldn’t have time limits imposed by the shuttle’s schedule. Not that I understand what good research into the behavior of ants in low gravity does … but I imagine the ants-tronauts would rather spend their lives on the moon, than keep going up and down in the shuttle.

Comments are closed.