Solar Sunday

As of late, there has been a lot going on in the solar energy world which has prompted me to collect the solar news as I come across it. Throughout the week, I’ll collect the news and post it on SOLAR SUNDAY!

These may take awhile to catch on in the fashion world. Well, at least until oil goes up again and all renewables are in trend again. Yes friends, it’s solar powered sunglasses to charge your gadgets.

I spied a story last week that spoke of a rumor of a rumor that Toyota is going to build the first solar powered car. As it turns out, they are in denial.

I’ve been following the solar lawnmower bit for about a year now. Can’t remember where I saw it but there was a tutorial on how to build a solar powered lawnmower (DIY) that I was considering. Guess I don’t have to now. Husqvarna has beat me to the punch.

For all of us who really want a solar pv system, it is coming closer to reality price wise. This system says they can provide a fully functional pv system for about $10k after rebates.

First they build the biggest dam. Now they lay claim to the largest solar plant in the world. Well, we still lay claim to the most wind farms.

4 thoughts on “Solar Sunday

  1. Pingback: Solar Sunday « Crazy World of G | Green News

  2. yeah. me too darev. the system i linked to is a good system and at the best (lowest) price i’ve seen yet. i figure it will still be a couple of years before i can make the move to solar. even then, i will still have to have the grid to rely on. oregon is not well known for it’s solar producing rays.

    that being said, oregon is on the forefront of the renewable energy movement and give great incentives to invest in such infrastructure.

  3. I’ve thought about putting up some low profile wind collectors here. I’d need a permit and huge amounts of acreage for anything substantial but maybe I can cobble together some smaller units. If I could just get say, our computers off the grid I’d be proud of myself. It’s a start.

Comments are closed.