Disable Avira Notifier

I recently downloaded Avira AntiVir Personal – Free Antivirus as my primary antivirus program. I had been using version 8.2. Recently my favorite security tech guru – Bill Mullins, advised me that version 9 is now ready for download. I couldn’t immediately find an update to version 8.2 so I used my trusty Revo Uninstaller to uninstall version 8.2 and made a clean install with version 9.

For those of you who don’t use Avira, I’m the poster child, card carrying member for their product. I have tried several antivirus programs and Avira works the best in my opinion.

That being said, Avira has one drawback – A nagging notifier to upgrade to the premium version pops up every time you update the Avira database.

Well, you don’t think g would put up with a popup do ya? Heck no!

To disable this pesky notifier, simply follow these directions:

For XP and Vista Users:
1. Start-> Control Panel
2. Administrative tools-> Local security policy
3. Click on Software Restriction Policy-> Action (at the top)-> create new restriction policies
4. Right-click additional rules (on the right side)-> new path rule
5. Click Browse and navigate to C:\Program Files\(Avira)\AntiVir Desktop\ and double-click avnotify.exe
6. Set the security level to Disallowed-> apply-> ok

If you had Avira previously installed and have already disallowed this, you need to change the thread to match (which for me meant changing Antivir Personal Classic to AntiVir Desktop).

It’s a beautiful thing my friends!

20 thoughts on “Disable Avira Notifier

  1. greetings. arrived by way of ghacks.

    do you happen to know why updating from avira8 doesn’t result in version9 being downloaded and installed?

    your masthead makes me suspect that you’re a cecil taylor fan.

  2. archer: i don’t know why updating versions doesn’t work. i had to uninstall v8 and installing a fresh v9. sorry, i don’t know who cecil taylor is. andy warhol yes!

  3. DUDE, Thank you so much. This helps a lot, now i know how to stop a few other pesky processes that try to run every now and then. Couldnt thank you enough, Peace.

  4. McAfee is another scam too.
    Even though I’ve uninstalled it by a special app,
    its logo keeps popping up at startup at that. Shameless.

  5. Thanx a lot Crazy G, Its been really annoying me, what a relief, plus that security policy will come in handy for other things. Thanks a lot man!!

  6. I have read that disabling the nag screen will effect the ability to get information on deleted viruses. Is this true?

  7. Thanks so much! I was getting about four or five different notifications a day asking me to sign up with Avira’s competitions, or it’s Facebook page. Very professional software but the pop-ups make it feel like it can’t be trusted. With the Pop-up’s gone I can now forget that it’s running in the background and get on with everything as normal. Thank you so much!! 5*

  8. Thanks for sharing, I would like to run a test on this annoying pop out now!!!

Comments are closed.