Spyware Terminator v2.5

It must be upgrade week for the arsenal of antivirus/malware/spyware software that I use.

Spyware Terminator v2.5 is now available for download (free). It has some nice features that were not previously available on v2.3 (the last version I had loaded).

One thing that irritated me about Spyware Terminator was asking me everytime if I wanted to run certain programs. This was just a minor annoyance but the positives with this fine piece of software far outweighed the minor annoyances I mentioned.

The latest release helps fix those annoyances by giving you the option to “remember the program”. You only need click it once and Spyware Terminator will “remember the program” for the next time you run it. So in a nutshell, my previous minor annoyance is fixed.

Spyware Terminator offers the following features:

  • Spyware/Malware realtime protection
  • WebGuard (you can enable or disable this feature)
  • HIPS protection (host intrusion)
  • Integration with ClamAV (antivirus)
  • Automatic Updates
  • Automatic Scanning (enable or disable)
  • FREE!

I’ve been using Spyware Terminator for about a year now and can’t recommend it enough.

9 thoughts on “Spyware Terminator v2.5

  1. I’ve been using Avast and it seems to be doing okay. Is the terminator a resource hog like some of them seem to be? I guess it isn’t if you’re recommending it. May have to give it a try. Any thoughts on this new april 1st bug that’s supposed to hit? Or is it all just a sham?

  2. Pingback: Geek Squeaks’ of the Week (#3) « What’s On My PC

  3. darev: avast is an antivirus program and spyware terminator is a program to detect malware/spyware. it’s what i would call a backup real time scanner to your main antivirus program (avast).

    i personally run the following realtime – avira as my main antivirus prog., spyware terminator, winpatrol, startup monitor, spyware blaster, and asquared hijackfree. i also run plax network suite to monitor my network connections. it takes an arsenal!

  4. darev, i forgot to add that the april 1st bug that is supposed to hit is called “conficker” supposedly there are millions of computers that are already infected with this time release bug.

    make sure to back up your important files in case you have the virus. i doubt that i have it but if i do, i’m all backed up and think it would be fun to disinfect this virus! i say bring it on!!! it would also give my virus arsenal a good workout.

  5. sham: this new version of ST is a nice upgrade from the previous version. i think you will like it.

  6. Pingback: Geek Squeaks’ of the Week (#4) « What’s On My PC

  7. Pingback: Geek Squeaks’ of the Week (#7) « What’s On My PC

  8. Pingback: GeekSqueaks Of The Week (#1) « TechGeekFiles

Comments are closed.