Are You Ready For Conficker?

While many of you can’t bear the thought of a virus infecting your computer, I actually welcome infections now.

You heard me right. I welcome them. Why on earth would someone welcome a computer virus you might ask? Simply put, I’m prepared.

With the help of Bill Mullins over at Tech Thoughts, I have been able to secure my computer using what I consider to be the best anti virus programs available. So when disaster is looming (such as the highly anticipated Conficker Virus), I have made sure to update all of my antivirus software and backup all of my files.

If Conficker day (AKA April Fools Day) turns out to be real, the implications it will have on unprotected computers is nothing short of a disaster! You may already be infected with Conficker and may play host to the creators devices so you might want to scan your computer with Stinger which is a virus scanner that directly targets the Conficker virus. It is constantly updated as new variants are found.

And make sure to pay a visit to Bill’s web security blog. As the saying goes, it’s better to be safe than sorry.

Don’t be a victim of computer viruses. Protect yourself. A good protection system is multi-layered and mine consists of the following:

Avira Free
Spyware Terminator
Winpatrol
Startup Monitor
Asquared HiJack Free

7 thoughts on “Are You Ready For Conficker?

  1. james: thanks for stopping in. it looks like conficker has came and went.

    darev: i don’t think it is a hoax as it has already infected millions of computers. there was supposed to be an event but it didn’t materialize. April Fools i guess!

  2. Thanks again, btw…. The wifes puter was having major problems and I dumped the two anti-v progs she was using, installed avira and ran a scan. It found several nasties that the others had missed and now her puter is running fine again. You are the tech god.

  3. That’s great to hear Darev! My very basic first line of defense running realtime is Avira, Spywareterminator, and Winpatrol.

    Once infected, I strongly suggest you run several more antimalware scans with Malwarebytes and Superantispyware just to be on the safe side.

    And make sure to visit Bill Mullins “Tech Thoughts” if you really want a good (make that great) education on computer security. His link is in my blog links under “Tech Blogs”

Comments are closed.