A Place Called Vertigo

Since about 11pm last Friday evening, I have been experiencing my first unexplained bout of Vertigo.  It came on suddenly and the best explanation I can give on the feeling is extreme dizziness.  If I’m walking, I feel like I’m in a video game. The whole world feels like it’s moving around – or rather, that my brain is moving around inside my skull.

If you’ve been drunk before, it’s like the bedspins. I can stop the vertigo by sitting or laying down and not moving my head. Preferably having my head against something will totally shut off the dizziness.

The first two days I had vertigo, I experienced nausea that I can only equate to the nausea I have experienced while being sea sick. Yep, death looked like a better place to be. Now, I think the reason I am no longer nauseous is because I’ve become used to being dizzy. I walk around like I’m totally drunk. My wife noticed my walk being a little wavering. I decided to go to the doctor yesterday to make sure I didn’t have a brain tumor or something of the sort. She asked me if I needed her to drive me there. I told her it was either that or walk the 50 miles. Well, she knew how I was walking so she drove me. Bless her heart.

The doctor didn’t have much to say. He said it wasn’t a brain tumor so not to worry. He said his best guess is that it is a virus and the only thing I can do is wait it out. Yay.

If there’s anything good to come out of this, it’s that I’m getting more face time with my laptop. At work we have a virtual server which I can connect to from anywhere there is internet service. In this case, it is from my easy chair at home via my home wifi connection. I can also tap into my home network files so it’s like sitting at my desktop as well.

So if I seem a bit obtuse or distant, I am. I’m in a place called Vertigo.

20 thoughts on “A Place Called Vertigo

  1. Hey buddy, had a dizzy spell about a month or ago. I woke up with it and it lasted for about a day before going away. I felt drunk like you described, but I did not get sick. The doc thought that perhaps I had an inner ear infection.

    What I was really concerned with was that I maybe had Meniere’s disease because I was feeling pressure in my inner ear along with the ringing. The doc said he didn’t think so.

    Hope you feel better soon.

  2. jeeez, that sounds like a real drag… navigating around the 3D world is difficult enough let alone gettin’er done while your reeling around like either you just got off some hi torque carnival ride on steroids or spent a winter month on the Bering Sea in the foc’sle of a crab boat consuming nothing but 151 Rum and champagne chasers

    hope it goes away for you.

  3. This happened to two friends recently and what it was, was something like a calcium deposit on one of the bones of the inner ear. Both times the doc manipulated the head and it moved the deposit out of where it was and life went back to normal for both people immediately. It was simple and it took less than five seconds to fix.

  4. G,

    This does not sound like a fun ride. As a fellow blogger, I hope you level out and everything is OK…

  5. Hey, remember back when you’d spend 20 or 30 bucks on things that would make you feel like that? Were we stupid or what back then? Hope it clears up soon, bud. Take it easy and don’t stand up too quickly.

  6. Pingback: Geek Squeaks’ of the Week (#6) « What’s On My PC

  7. appreciate the well wishes everyone. the “bad carnival ride” hit the nail on the head.

  8. Pingback: Geek Squeaks’ of the Week (#6) | file an extension

  9. I have a favorite line that I always drag out for occasions just as this one:
    “You know, that happened to my uncle, right before he died…..”
    It used to scare the crap out of the kids until they caught on. It still scares the inmates every now and then. (grin)

  10. And then there’s “constipation” which can make some weird stuff happen with dizziness, fainting, nausea, etc.

    How are your bowels treating you.

    Next is “stress” which can really work on your ass with alll kinds of wacky and similar symptoms.

  11. Pingback: Can Chiropractic Care Help With Balance Problems? | Health Care Blog

  12. Hey G!

    Well, I hope that you are feeling better. I’ve never had vertigo, but it certainly does not sound like fun. I’ll be sure to blast some U2 in your honor tonight! Get well soon!

    Ryo Vie – The Rock and Roll Guru

  13. Update – I’m getting better (it’s been two weeks). I would rate my dizziness at about 75% cured now. Very distracting and annoying. I’m just glad it’s finally going away. At this rate, I should be back in the swing of things soon.

  14. Glad you’re doing better. A gal I work with has been going through the same thing and it happened to my husband a few years ago. Turned out to be some type of an inner-ear virus. Weird though. Hope it clears up totally for you soon!

  15. Hmmzz my mother had the same a couple of months ago, they did an extensive research and found nothing worrying. They explained that her ear-stones (otolith) had moved and needed to resettle again on the hairs inside the vestibular system. It took about 3-5 weeks to become normal again. There was a little relapse though caused by a sudden rapid movement of the head, but the problem seems to be gone now.

Comments are closed.