Microsoft Wireless Laser 8000 Mouse Review

If you are in the market for a new mouse, I have to recommend you check out Microsoft’s Wireless Laser 8000 Mouse.

Recently my Microsoft bluetooth mouse finally stopped functioning after many years of great service. It took me the better part of a month of mouse searching to replace it because I am very fickle about mice.

That search ended with the purchase of the 8000.

Pro’s

  • Laser Tracking
  • Wireless
  • Adequate distance from receiver
  • Fits both hands and is very comfortable
  • Sidescrolling
  • Rechargable – Takes AA batteries
  • Comes with rechargeable base
  • Battery life indicator
  • Battery life about 2 weeks in between charging
  • Mouse shut off switch when not in use (preserves battery life)
  • Free scroll mouse wheel

Con’s

  • None

Price as tested – $50 from Amazon.com

As I said, I highly recommend this mouse if you are in the market.

11 thoughts on “Microsoft Wireless Laser 8000 Mouse Review

  1. Pingback: Topics about Microsoft » Microsoft Wireless Laser 8000 Mouse Review

  2. I think I’m going to make the jump to a wireless mouse soon. My desk is such a mess of cables and wires that it’s starting to drive me crazy. At least we finally went to a wireless router. No if I just find a market for the miles of cat-5 cable I have left running through my attic…

  3. darev: you will be spoiled once you do! I’ve been wireless mouse/keyboard since 2003.

  4. I’m sure it will be awhile before I talk myself into it. I’m such a cheapskate when it comes to myself. I can’t see spending fifty bucks on a mouse when I can replace my wired one for twenty. But I purely would love to get rid of more wires….

  5. G,

    Great review! Go wireless! I wouldn’t have it any other way. Next to having a great monitor the mouse (and keyboard) is critical in making that computer experience, on a daily basis, an enjoyable one…

    Rick

  6. Pingback: Geek Squeaks’ of the Week (#8) « What’s On My PC

  7. Hi G,

    I just landed on your blog through a link from Bill Mullin’s weblog and found some interesting stuff out there. I am sorry to contact you through Comments section, because I could not find a Contact Page here.

    I am a tech blogger at http://webtoolsandtips.com and write on Internet Security niche. I just wanted to reach out to the powerful community of of readers of this blog, and introduce my blog. For this I can offer a few Guest Posts.

    A few recent Guest Posts written by me on other blogs are http://billmullins.wordpress.com/2009/05/09/kidzui-free-safe-internet-browsing-for-kids/ and http://techie-buzz.com/online-security/hidden-file-extensions-windows-7-continues-the-security-risk.html.

    I invite you to have a look at them and my own blog at http://webtoolsandtips.com to know more about me.

    Looking forward for a relationship,

    With Regards,

    Silki Garg

  8. I just bought a Microsoft Laser bluetooth 8000 mouse. And find that it works well except when I have either Firefox or IE open the Magnify button doesn’t work. All the other buttons work except the magnify button. Close out your web browser and everything works as it should.

    Anyone know the reason for this?

    Thanks

  9. I’ve used the mouse for over a year and the scroll wheel has become so stiff it won’t hardly move, and the material on the wheel is degrading and rubbing up like a rubber glue. Until now, it was a fine mouse — reliable and quick. I can’t believe that the equipment is failing because of something so simple as the scroll wheel!

  10. cheryl: my last msft mouse lasted about 5 years and was replaced for the same reason. they just don’t make ’em like they used to.

  11. Pingback: GeekSqueaks Of The Week (#2) « TechGeekFiles

Comments are closed.