AxCrypt

Since I made the move to Windows 7 about a year ago, I was unable to continue to use one of my favorite programs.

AxCrypt is a program that will encrypt a file or folder and will also compress and shred files. My primary use is to encrypt my personal information in the event prying eyes happen upon my stuff.

Before I started using Windows 7, I was using Windows XP 32 bit. At the time, AxCrypt did not support 64 bit systems. When I upgraded my operating system to Win7, I upgraded to 64 bit. AxCrypt no longer worked and I complained! Since I was on AxCrypt’s email list, I got a message a month or so ago that AxCrypt now supported windows 7 and 64 bit. To say the least, I was relieved because I have tried many encryption programs for the past year and none of them held a candle to AxCrypt.

My needs were simple – I wanted a program that ran as an exe that would bring up a password window, open, and when I closed the file, would re-encrypt. AxCrypt did exactly this.

AxCrypt also integrates nicely into the right click context menu so encrypting new files or folders is a very fast process.

So if you have files or folders that you need to protect, look no further than AxCrypt! It supports XP, Win7 32 and 64 bit operating systems.

12 thoughts on “AxCrypt

  1. I got hold of this a few months ago but hadn’t really used it as of yet. I need to rearrange files and encrypt the ones I want kept private. Guess it’s time, eh? Since you say it’s handy, I’ll give it a shot.

  2. Hi Darev, I had been using another program called Text2exe and it was OK. It just had more steps to open the file but had the same encryption technology.

    AxCrypt is nice because it integrates with Windows explorer and the right context menu so that makes it very versatile.

    Thanks for stopping in!

  3. How well does this work with files on USB drives? I’ve tried other apps for that and have found them to be rather clunky. A straightforward and elegant encryption solution for flash drives would be nice.

  4. Rick, I’m really glad they finally support x64 architecture. I’ve been without for nearly a year!
    Text2exe is the closest thing I could find while AxCrypt was getting their act together lol

  5. Pingback: Geek Squeaks’ of the Week (#52) « What's On My PC

  6. Pingback: Protecting Sensitive Files on your Computer with AxCrypt « What's On My PC

  7. Interesting I’ll have to check out AxCrypt and see how I like it about year ago I came across SafeHouse Explorer and have been pretty pleased with the software since it can be used on a flash drive as well without admin privileges and also without leaving traces on the host computer…

Comments are closed.