HTC Incredible

This weeks Verizon Wireless release of the new HTC Incredible smart phone was perfect timing for yours truly since I have been due for a “new every two” phone for the past 6 months. For those of you who aren’t Verizon customers, “new every two” is a free or seriously discounted phone every two years for us dedicated Verizon wireless customers.

I have been with Verizon since Verizon became Verizon 10 years ago. I actually inherited Verizon when Airtouch Cellular became Verizon. So yeah, I would call myself a dedicated customer.

There hasn’t been a lot of “hype” over the Incredible but I really wanted to get a smart phone since I have been using standard cell phones for my entire cell phone career. I have some friends that have the iPhone and got to play around on those a bit and was mildly impressed with what they can do. A fellow coworker has a smart phone with the Window’s OS and I was not really impressed with that.

The biggest problem I have with the iPhone and Windows phone OS is they aren’t really geared toward a gearhead like myself. If I have an operating system, I want to be able to tweak it or hack it.

The HTC Incredible appealed to me because it runs on the Android (Linux) operating system. For those of you not acquainted with Linux, it is open source and geared toward those who like to tinker with their systems.

Two days ago, my HTC Incredible arrived (a day ahead of schedule) and I charged it up and set it up the next morning. I was amazed at how easy it was to set up and how fast and snappy the Android OS is! It operates on Verizon’s 3G network or via a wifi connection. This is very handy since my 3G connection at home is, well, I won’t sugar coat my coverage at home – It Sucks. With my wireless home network, the Incredible picked it up and I am able to do whatever I need to do.

Apps – The Incredible comes loaded with some great apps. Since Android is a Google platform, the HTC Incredible is VERY Google friendly. This is another reason I chose the Android OS over the others is because being the Google whore that I am, I run Google everything. This is good. Nearly seamless integration with Google Gmail, Voice, Maps, Docs, Calendar, etc.

Battery – I used the phone throughout the day surfing the web, making calls, checking email, etc and can safely say the battery will last all day with moderate to moderate heavy use. I have absolutely no complaints about the battery life. In fact, the battery lasts longer than my now 2 year old cell phone. This is good.

Coverage – There have been some complaints about coverage being worse. I didn’t find this to be the case and have about the same connectability as my 2 year old cell phone.

Using the Incredible is a great experience. The virtual keyboard functions excellent. To give the user a sense of feel, the Incredible implements the vibrate mode into the keyboard so when you type a letter, you get a vibrating feedback. Very cool feature.

The only con I can think of is the touch screen is too sensitive. I think there is a setting to tone it down a bit but I haven’t yet tinkered with it. Sometimes when I’m trying to scroll through apps or browsing, I inadvertently select the app or link.

There are now countless reviews on the HTC Incredible and if you are considering buying one, you should definitely check them out. As I type this, Verizon has run out of the Incredible and won’t be shipping again until the 4th of May.

Overall, I’m very happy with the Incredible and give it a 5 star rating.

17 thoughts on “HTC Incredible

  1. I have my .net email pushed through to Outlook as I like the Outlook calendar/contacts, etc.

    1) Do you know if it is possible to receive my .net email on the Incredible without going on the .net site to access the webmail since my email is set up to pust through to Outlook?
    2)Is it possible to sync my Outlook calendar/contacts with the Incredible?
    Thanks.

  2. I’m a fogey. I want a phone big enough I can see the buttons and heavy enough to use as a murder weapon if necessary. Does anybody make a phone/taser combo?

  3. Darev: I see a bright future for you in weapons grade smart phones. Let me know when you have a prototype ready. I’m happy to help test. 🙂

  4. The great thing about the Incredible is that you can talk to it to do all the work so a big keyboard is unnecessary. I talk my texts, email, navigation and searches. Finally a phone that does it with 100% accuracy.

  5. Danny: I must not talk clear enough. There are several contacts that don’t get recognized. I guess I need to train the phone!

  6. Hey, can you find out how to get rid of my phone contacts? I have EVERYONE from my facebook account and I only want to keep about 20 of the 200+ that it imported when I synced with Facebook.

    Help, Techno-G !

  7. Auntie, I’ll have to get back to you on that. The short answer is to individually delete contacts. What I’m not sure of is if the Incredible will keep syncing them back in. I’ll do some testing and get back to you.

  8. Auntie:
    In settings, go to Accounts and Sync.
    go to Facebook for HTC Sense.
    turn off Sync Contacts.

  9. Pingback: Geek Squeaks’ of the Week (#58) « What's On My PC

  10. Pingback: HTC Incredible, 10 Products, Contest Deadline, more… « Tech – for Everyone

  11. Dare i think you want the HTC The Bomb

    I personally have an HTC The Touch Pro 2 and the honeymoon is over. I liked this Windows OS phone a ton the first few months but then it started slowing down and even *gasp* locking up. I blame the battery. When the battery goes you are hosed. With any flash OS you will get memory leaks etc. Enjoy it while it lasts G. Hope it keeps on incredblazing for ya.

  12. CrazyJ – As you well know, I’m a tweaker and the thought of a Windows OS on my phone is unconscionable. The incredible utilizes the Android OS and I couldn’t be happier. It’s snappy and isn’t dumb.

  13. Great write up. I, too, have had luck with the battery just by turning of the background data selection. the coverage seems to be the same as my blackberry curve.
    My question is this. my some was playing on the YouTube program for the Incredible and licked up the phone. now, after numerous resets, removal of the battery and even using the reboot feature (pressing joystick while turning power on) but I still can’t get YouTube to launch. it just flickers the screen to black and then goes back to the home screen. any thoughts?

Comments are closed.