The Year That Was 2012

Before I get into the year that was 2012, I want to give a heads up to visit the fine folks at MaxRedline for an interesting and damning article regarding the EPA.

The year that was 2012 started off on a great note for me personally.  My New Years Resolution was to stop smoking and start exercising.

And I did!  It took me about a month to get my lungs back.  I started walking and gradually worked in running.

Now I enjoy running a couple miles, 4-5 days a week and also play tennis before work on weekday mornings.  I have a nightly regime of stretching including leg lifts, sit-ups and push-ups.  I’ve lost weight and am getting tone.  If any of you are having a hard time quitting smoking, start exercising.  Just walking with a little running.  The two don’t mix and you will not want to smoke.

The year for me work wise started out slow but ended very well.  The company I work for is busier than we have ever been.  We have enjoyed a re-birth and are well positioned for next year to have an even better year.  We have unprecedented backlog going into 2013 and in this day and age, is no short order and is largely due to some necessary tweaks and management stepping up to the plate to get profitable jobs!

For those of you that don’t know, I am a huge Oregon State Beavers fan.  2011 was a horrible year for BEAVER NATION fans to endure.  That all changed in 2012 and we had a great season ending the year 9-4 and 6-3 in the Pac 12.  Unfortunately we lost the Alamo bowl to the Texas Longhorns.  Looking forward to next year as always!

Music releases this year were OK.  I discovered a few new bands.  Sufjan Stevens and Lykke Li.  Glad to see Wolfmother working on some new tracks.  Can’t wait for a new album from them.

The Port of Astoria continues to lose money.  No surprise there.  I am hopeful the new director will take charge and put a couple of the micro manager commissioners in their place.  I have talked with several members of the community that are close to the Port action and all indicate these two commissioners are an embarrassment to the community and should resign – or at the least, not run again when their position is up for re-election.  I have heard Dan Hess will not run again.  That’s too bad because Dan never let his ego get in the way and was always very thoughtful and helpful.  On a good note, I have heard there is someone who is waiting in the wings to run for his position that is well qualified and will  hopefully bring some professionalism back to the commission.

This summer was mostly spent cutting wood for the winter.  I managed to chop about 10 cord which should be almost enough for next winter as well.  The family and I also managed to go camping with some good friends near Bend Oregon at East Lake.  The weather was in the high 80’s / low 90’s.  Perfect swimming weather and the kids had a blast.

I hate funerals.  This year I lost a good friend and golfing partner to cancer.  Rest in peace Terry and I will be joining you when my time comes.

Of course there was the big Mayan scare.  I’ll never trust a Mayan again.  They missed big time!

And last but not least, the election of 2012 was fought between Republicrats Obama and Romney.  I was pulling for Romney only because of my distaste for Obama.  I decided after this year I will no longer support anyone that supports spending and protecting big banks./wall street.  I want to believe the policies that will be set by the Republicrats will strengthen the resolve of the American public to vote the bastards out and vote in some fiscally conservative ANYONE’s!

I’m sure there is more that I am missing but that is all that comes to mind.  My New Years Resolution for 2013 is to blog regularly.  We’ll see what happens.

A few key words of wisdom from Eric Clapton:
May you never lose your temper when you get hit in a bar room fight and may you never lose your woman overnight.

See you all next year!

2 thoughts on “The Year That Was 2012

  1. Well that’s a fine quote by Clapton. Was that before or after he ran off with George Harrison’s ol’ lady? But seriously, glad you are back in the blogosphere. Voting in accordance with my faith has simplified the whole process for me immensely.

Comments are closed.