Gone Shootin’

My wife, youngest daughter, and I went shooting yesterday. It was my wife’s first time. I told her she kept shooting center left and she said that was where she was aiming so she didn’t mix her shots up with mine. Clever. We are both excited to take our Concealed Carry class in a couple weeks. More on that after the class.

Like many of you, I’m tired of the new attempt to control guns. I wish the gun control crowd would just go away so we can get back to focusing on important issues like the fact our economy continues to erode. Gun control is a distraction.

The problem the gun control crowd has making their argument justifiable is they “want to make sure the events in Newtown never happen again”. Yeah, me neither. Unfortunately, there is not one thing these people are suggesting that would keep this sort of thing from happening again. You read it right. Not one.

You see, the perp in the Newtown shooting wasn’t paying attention to the numerous gun control laws that are already in place.

  • Murder
  • Assault with a deadly weapon
  • Committing A Felony With a Firearm
  • Possession of a stolen gun
  • Unlawful carrying of a loaded pistol with out a permit
  • Under the age of 21-driving to school with gun
  • Underage adult in Possession of a loaded gun
  • Brining a gun into a gun free zone-the school
  • Criminal Trespass
  • Car Theft-stealing his mother car

Now I watch the TV as VP Biden suggests there should be an “assault rifle” and “high capacity magazine” ban.
First of all, the left needs to quit calling (what I assume) a semi automatic sporting rifle an assault rifle. The definition of an assault rifle is clear and defined and is a military rifle with full automatic capability used in military applications to shoot bad guys. The liberal left gun control nuts want you to believe these military type weapons are available off the shelf for bad guys. They aren’t. Any rifle can be used to assault someone. A hunting rifle for instance can be used to shoot someone and kill them. I guess hunting rifles (semi-auto, bolt, single, or lever action) aren’t as emotionally chargeable as a really cool looking Bushmaster.

High Capacity magazines – This is a non starter. It takes 3 seconds to change magazines. A perp who is intent on killing many people will have the proper amount of ammo and will be able to effectively load their weapon and kill until they no longer want to kill. There is absolutely ZERO evidence that smaller magazine capacity will result in fewer casualties. In fact, in the Oregon mall shooting a few months ago, the perp had a high capacity magazine that jammed (which resulted in very few casualties.) High capacity magazines are proven (there is evidence) to jam more often than low capacity magazines.

There is a lot of misinformation flying around about semi-automatic sporting rifles. The dumbass comment of the week comes from Oregon legislator (D-Beaverton) Mark Hass.

Appearing on KATU “Your Voice, Your Vote,” state Sen. Mark Hass said he’s ready to talk.

“Military assault weapons – if we could limit peoples’ access to those, I’d be supportive of that,” he said. “The same with those magazines, I don’t think there’s any place – hunters don’t need 60 rounds per second.”

Recapping my comments above, the people are not able to buy “Military Assault Weapons”. And if we were, there is not a “Military Assault Weapon” that is capable of shooting 60 rounds per second.

I’m glad he’s not my legislator and I feel sorry for those that have to suffer such a fool.

I actually have a great legislator. Her name is Betsy Johnson (D-Scappoose) who is my State Senator. I talk to her regularly and voice my opinion. I haven’t talked to her about guns although I do know she is a big time supporter of the 2nd Amendment and gun rights.

I fully believe this whole recent gun control discussion will die out soon enough. Hopefully without any more gun laws being legislated. Hopefully we start focusing on the real problem which is the mental health side that is sending these psychopaths into our schools and other public places. There is a complete breakdown of federal through the local level in enforcing laws that are already in place to protect us from them. If we can’t enforce the laws that are already in place, why are we even talking about new laws?

2 thoughts on “Gone Shootin’

  1. I remember the first time I took my wife shooting. It changed her perceptions for the better on a whole bunch of things. Good luck with the classes.

Comments are closed.